Why Photography Is Important To Me

Why Photography Is Important To Me
The photo above was taken within a couple of days after my daughter Arabella was born in October 2008. That baby graduated from preschool this week.Why Photography Is Important To Me

It was about this time of year in 2011 that I became interested in photography. I wanted to know how a photographer made an image that was so powerful it grabbed and you and made you stare at it for several seconds. Next thing I knew I was researching cameras and photography. I settled on a Nikon D3100. How I taught myself is a topic for another post, however.

Why Photography Is Important To Me

One of the first images I shot with my Nikon D3100

I graduated from the University of Texas 20 years ago and later this summer I will (hopefully) be attending my 25-year high school reunion. I’ve been working with children and teens since college, but it wasn’t until I became a parent that I realized how quickly time passes. You always think you can do something tomorrow but it comes more quickly than expected and suddenly tomorrow is yesterday.

Why Photography Is Important To Me

Why Photography Is Important To Me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photography is my personal time machine. All I have to do is go back through my photos to take me back to a specific period in my life. A photograph allows me to recall what I was doing and how I was feeling when that photograph was captured.  That’s the feeling I want my daughter to experience as she grows older.

I’ve shot hundred of photos of Arabella in the 3 years since I purchased a camera–so many that she will often roll her eyes when she sees the camera looking at her.  Yet, I know that I’m instilling in her a love for photography and all that it means to her dad.

Why Photography Is Important To Me

 

Comment below and tell me why photography became important to you.

Leave a Reply

