Adoption Day

As you may know, my full-time job is as an investigator for the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (aka Child Protective Services).  I respond to reports of child abuse/neglect and, at times, have to remove children from their parents due to dangerous situations.  This is usually the end of my involvement with those children.

My coworkers know that photography is a hobby/side business of mine.  This year, I was given the opportunity to photograph children and their new “forever families” at the 7th Annual Brazos County Adoption Day.  It was a special and very touching day, especially since I was friends with one of the people adopting children and it reminded me that there can be a happy ending for the children I encounter every day.

Brazos County Adoption Day

My friend Cara and her two children pose with Judge Steve Smith (who was also adopted) and other people involved with the family

Leave a Reply

