My Two Worlds Collide

Photography started out as a hobby for me, mostly because I became the father of the most beautiful little girl.  It has only recently become a “business.”  This weekend it became a form of therapy.  Shooting two high school football games helped me get over a tough week.

In my other job as a “social worker,” I run into a lot of sad situations.  On Friday, I attended the funeral of a 4-year-old boy who died in a tragic accident.  At the start of the memorial service, an approximately 8 minute slide show was played.  It contained photographs of this child with his parents and brother captured during a way-too-short period of time on this earth.   Other than the songs being played, the only sounds you could hear were sniffles from a church packed with crying adults.

I tweeted the lesson I learned that day:  Photographs.  Cherish them because sometimes that’s all you have left.

 

July 2013.  Cruise on the Mississippi River in New Orleans.

July 2013. Cruise on the Mississippi River in New Orleans.

One thought on “My Two Worlds Collide

Leave a Reply

