Image

Kickoff

Welcome to the first blog post of my first blog!  Allow me to describe the origins of this blog.

This month Derek Bowman forwarded me some information about Dave Campbell’s Texas Football looking for photographers to shoot high school football games.  I had taken a few photos of Navasota High School Rattlers sports during the past year and this seemed like a pretty good opportunity to get some photos “out there” for others to see.

Navasota vs. Gilmer 3A State Championship Game at Cowboys Stadium

Navasota vs. Gilmer
3A State Championship Game at Cowboys Stadium

Navasota Rattlers at College Station Cougars

Navasota Rattlers at College Station Cougars

After a little thought, I figured I’d submit my name and a sample of my “work” to the magazine’s website to see what they had to say.  I was pleasantly surprised to hear back from them and before too long I was issued a media pass that identified me as a “contributing staffer” to the magazine!!

Since I’d never shot photos from the sidelines, I started attending Rattlers practice sessions.  Before too long, some of the players, parents, and school staff began taking note of the photos that I’d uploaded to Twitter and Facebook.  When a parent offered to pay for photos of her son I began to think that maybe there’s an opportunity here to create something special.

Rattler QB Shelton Eppler drops back in a scrimmage against the Sealy Tigers

Rattler QB Shelton Eppler drops back in a scrimmage against the Sealy Tigers

Since then, I’ve been consumed with thoughts, ideas, and fears about whether to make the jump into “semi-professional” photography, but it looks like I finally did.

One thought on “Kickoff

Leave a Reply

